Board of Directors and Officers

AmericaView is a national consortium comprised of individual state consortia. The national consortium is governed by a Board of Directors, elected to staggered multi-year terms of office by the membership. Board members serve on a voluntary basis and receive no compensation beyond travel support. Officers’ Terms are for a one year period, although by Board agreement, they may be extended for an additional year. Board Directors and Officers are elected at AV’s Winter Business Meeting (WBM) held annually, generally in the February to April time frame.


Chair: Jarlath O’Neil-Dunne

Spatial Analysis Laboratory, Director
The Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
University of Vermont
Aiken Center, Room 220
Burlington, VT 05405
Professional Webpage
Board Term: WBM 2017 – WBM 2020


Vice Chair: JB Sharma, PhD

Professor and Eminent Scholar
Assistant Department Head – Physics
Institute for Environmental Spatial Analysis
University of North Georgia
Gainesville, GA 30504
Professional Webpage
Board Term: WBM 2015 – WBM 2018


Treasurer: Rebecca L. Dodge, PhD

Associate Professor
The Department of Geosciences
Midwestern State University
3410 Taft Blvd
Wichita Falls, Texas 76308
Departmental Webpage
Board Term: WBM 2015 – WBM 2018


Secretary: Russell G. Congalton, PhD

Professor of Remote Sensing and GIS
MS Graduate Program Coordinator
Department of Natural Resources & the Environment
114 James Hall, 56 College Rd
University of New Hampshire
Durham, NH 03824
Professional Webpage
Board Term: WBM 2016 – WBM 2019


Director: Rick Lawrence, PhD

Land Resources and Environmental Sciences Department
Director, Spatial Sciences Center
Montana State University
PO Box 1733490
Bozeman, MT 59717-3490
Professional Webpage
Board Term: WBM 2015 – WBM 2018

Director: Brent Yantis

Regional Analysis Center
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Abdalla Hall
635 Cajundome Blvd
Lafayette, Louisiana, 70506
Professional Webpage
Board Term: WBM 2017 – WBM 2020


Director: Pia van Benthem

Center for Spatial Technologies and Remote Sensing (CSTARS)
Program Coordinator for UCD CA Space Grant Consortium, & AggieMentors
The University of California, Davis
Department of Land, Air and Water Resources
137 Veihmeyer Hall
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
Professional Website
Board Term: WBM 2016 – WBM 2019